Le Musée de Saint-Boniface Museum is a national historic site that collects, preserves and interprets a variety of artefacts relating to French-Canadian and Métis heritages while acknowledging the historical contributions of the First Nations and religious communities.
Built for the Grey Nuns between 1846 and 1851, the Red River Frame log building now serves to showcase the history and culture of Manitoba’s early settlers. It`s unique exhibits reveal the hardships of daily life as well as the triumphs of the human spirit. The building itself is the oldest remaining structure in Winnipeg and the largest oak building in North America.
The Museum’s collection features a special exhibit dedicated to the province`s founding father, Louis Riel. One of kind items include locks of Louis Riel`s hair, his coffin, moccasins, suspenders and revolver. Riel’s Grave is located also located near the St. Boniface Museum.
Open year round M-F 9am-5pm, Sun 12-4pm with extended summer hours. Bilingual reception, group tours and gift shop also available year round. Wheelchair accessible.
Visit Winnipeg’s oldest building as well as a wide variety of historically significant artefacts located right in the heart of the city, just across from The Forks!